annavancouver.blogg.se

Origami angel
Origami angel




I went to their show on November 18 at Elsewhere Hall in Brooklyn, New York. Yes, maybe they do make music that would entice a fourteen year old boy- But they put on a mighty good show. Yes, I know some of their songs are about Pokémon and anime.

origami angel

Yes, maybe all of their songs follow the same chord progression. Any person who may come my way is bound to hear my rambling about why I believe they deserve every inch of recognition they have. Origami Angel is a band that you can cry, scream, dance and fight to. I think this is what made going to see Origami Angel -twice- so special. These are the ones with other fans that strangely know every lyric to a song by a random garage band from Washington D.C. I can appreciate the thousands-of-screaming-fans insane-light-show-anticipation of larger venues, but there is something about good ol’ general admission. When I went to my first small-venue concert at the Music Hall of Williamsburg in Brooklyn, I discovered how incredible this type of environment is. The concerts I went to before this year were stadium tours, ones with thousands of fans and an extremely systematic approach.

origami angel

The best concerts, in my opinion, are the ones that make you feel a sense of community.

origami angel

The renaissance I have recently found with smaller bands like Movements, Joyce Manor, and even Mom Jeans have not only taken all of my streaming time in the last few months, but have introduced me to an extremely special environment: The Small Indie Rock Scene. Pop punk is a genre that I have only recently started getting into, which is funny considering I am twenty years old and only just started an era that most people enter when they’re an early teenager.






Origami angel